Proof Society Workshop and Winter School 2021

2021 Workshop on Proof Theory and its Applications

The 3rd Workshop on Proof Theory and its Applications will take place from Dec 2 to Dec 4 at the University of Madeira under the auspices of the Proof Society and is organized by the Kurt Gödel Society.

The workshop will bring together researchers on proof theory and its applications through a series of invited and contributed talks as well as panel discussion, aiming to fulfil the mission of The Proof Society:

To support the notion of proof in its broadest sense, through a series of suitable activities; to be therefore inclusive in reaching out to all scientific areas which consider proof as an object in their studies; to enable the community to shape its future by identifying, formulating and communicating it most important goals; to actively promote proof to increase its visibility and representation.

The Workshop will be co-located with the 3rd Proof Society Winter School.

Invited Speakers

Eduardo Fermé (Madeira)

David Fernández Duque (Ghent)

Fedor Pakhomov (Ghent)

Stepan Kuznetsov (Moscow)

Michael Rathjen (Leeds)

Special outreach speaker

Andrei Voronkov (Manchester)

Contributed Talks

Submission of abstracts for the workshop is closed!

The duration of the contributed talks will be 30 minutes, including questions.

At least one author per submitted abstract has to be registered.

More details on the registration page.


Thursday, Dec 2
time Speaker Title
9.10 - 10.00 David Fernández Duque Giant Steps for Goodstein Walks
10.00 - 10.30 Robin Martinot Purity for formal proofs: when does a proof belong to the content of a theorem?
10.30 - 11.00 Avgerinos Delkos Proof Complexity of Positive Branching Programs
11.00 - 11.30 coffee break
11.30 - 12.00 Dominik Wehr Abstract Cyclic Proofs
12.00 - 12.30 Guillermo Menéndez Turata Uniform interpolation from cyclic proofs
12.30 - 13.00 Jan Rooduijn Making infinitary annotated proofs concise
13.00 - 14.30 lunch break
14.30 - 15.20 Eduardo Fermé Belief Change with Limits of Credibility
15.30 - 16.00 Michael Bernreiter Sequent Calculi for Choice Logics
16.00 - 16.30 coffee break
16.30 - 17.00 Mikheil Rukhaia A Fuzzy Logic with Sequence Variables and Flexible-arity Symbols
17.00 - 17.30 Esaïe Bauer Provability of Functionnal Reactive Programming type system
17.30 - 18.00 Johannes Kloibhofer A Fixed-point Theorem for Horn Formula Equations
Friday, Dec 3
time Speaker Title
9.00 - 9.30 Jannik Vierling Some observations on induction in saturation theorem proving
9.30 - 10.00 Lorenzo Sauras-Altuzarra Divisibility criteria for Fermat numbers
10.00 - 10.30 Iris van der Giessen Proof Theory for the Admissible Rules in Lax Logic
10.30 - 11.00 Takahiro Yamada A Reconstruction of Strict Finitistic First-Order Logic
11.00 - 11.30 coffee break
11.30 - 12.00 Matteo Tesi Terminating calculi for a class of intermediate logics
12.00 - 12.30 Ana Borges QRC_1 in Coq, Formalizing a quantified modal logic
12.30 - 13.00 Jan Bydzovsky A non-arithmetical Gödel Logic
13.00 - 14.30 lunch break
14.30 - 15.20 Stepan Kuznetsov Complexity of Logics with Kleene Star
15.30 - 16.00 Konstantin Shishov Logical Calculus for Effect Algebras
16.00 - 16.30 coffee break
16.30 - 17.00 Katarzyna W. Kowalik A non-speedup result for the chain-antichain principle over a weak base theory
17.00 - 17.30 Pablo Dopico What’s so special about ε_0? Making sense of the boundaries of finite mathematics
17.30 - 18.00 Best Student Presentation Award
Saturday, Dec 4
time Speaker Title
9.00 - 9.50 Fedor Pakhomov Fast growing hierarchy, ordinal collapsing functions, and Π¹₁-CA₀
10.00 - 10.30 Joost J. Joosten Finite for some practical purposes
10.30 - 11.00 Marianna Girlando Cyclic Hypersequents for Transitive Closure Logic
11.00 - 11.30 coffee break
11.30 - 12.00 Allard Tamminga Two-sided sequent calculi for FDE-like four-valued logics
12.00 - 12.30 Will Stafford Decidability of proof-theoretic validity
12.30 - 13.00 Gianluca Curzi Cyclic Implicit Complexity
13.00 - 13.30 Matteo Acclavio An Analytic Proof System on Graphs
13.30 - 14.00 coffee and closing
Best Student Presentation Award

The best student presentation based on scientific content and quality of the presentation will be selected from the contributed talks. The winner will be awarded a certificate and a Kurt Gödel medal.

Program Committee

Bahareh Afshari, University of Gothenburg

Matthias Baaz, TU Wien (chair)

Arnold Beckmann, Swansea University

Lev D. Beklemishev, Steklov Mathematical Institute

Balthasar Grabmayr, Humboldt University of Berlin

Rosalie Iemhoff, Utrecht University

Joost Joosten, University of Barcelona

Antonina Kolokolova, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Anela Lolic, TU Wien

Norbert Preining, Fujitsu

Andreas Weiermann, Ghent University

Organizing Committee

Nino Antidze

Matthias Baaz (co-chair)

Ketevan Gognadze

Benedikt Hartl

Joost Joosten

Anela Lolic (co-chair)

Ilma Lolic

Eduardo Marques

Maurício Reis

Vesna Sabljakovic-Fritz

Back to Top